It’s a gift, of sorts, my “Gift of snorts!”

Z's for WP

One of my favorite conductors on the Long Island Railroad walked by me today, stopped and backed up. She turned to me and said, “It’s you! I hardly recognized you because usually this time you’d be passed out cold, asleep!” Yeah, I thought, “It’s a gift!” Then she looked at me with a certain gleam and started to giggle and walked off.

I know what the giggle was all about… I snore! Not always, but most of the time. Sometimes I snore softly at a murmur, other times loud like a raging bridge troll. It’s the curse that comes with my gift.

To be able to take a refreshing nap, for however long, regardless of the circumstances and quickly, is a gift. Ever since I could remember, whenever I got the chance to close my eyes for even five minutes, I would steal that little refreshing nap and wake up keen and sharp! The beauty of it is, all I have to do is THINK about sleep, and I could be there in 60 seconds. NICE!

But (and this is huge) if I am really, really tired, I will snore and that is my curse.

I used to think being able to nap as quickly was a gift from God. I thought the angels would say, “Will needs a reboot, let’s sprinkle some sleepy dust on his head and let him refresh!” But for those around me, it could be a gift from hell, where they are made to suffer.

I’ve got it under control at home. I have a bi-pap machine, which I take with me when I travel. I can’t imagine sleeping at night without it.

But my ability to take daytime naps is the gift that keeps on giving. I have learned to listen to my breathing, and when I hear myself, I wake myself up. That’s my way of giving back to those of you who hear my song!

Leave a Reply

